

Issue No. 6

#### June 2004

#### Synergies

Welcome to *Synergies*, a periodic newsletter of the Classroom of the Future Foundation. Synergies provides an overview and update of the projects and initiatives of the Foundation and profile significant partners and supporters.

If you have any particular story ideas, we certainly welcome them. Or, if you would prefer not to receive this newsletter, we will remove your name from our distribution list. Please contact Bruce Braciszewski at (858) 292-3685 or email cffstaff@list.scdoe.net. �

#### CFF Annual Event

#### A Major Success Aboard Midway Museum

The annual event "Innovations in Education" for the Classroom of the Future Foundation played to a record 470 attendees this year at the San Diego Aircraft Carrier Museum aboard the historic carrier U.S.S. Midway.

Educators who united curriculum, instructional practice and technology in innovative ways were honored for their dedication and insight.

The event proved to be a very worthwhile fundraiser for CFF as we work to broaden our financial base by developing new partnerships with the business community. But most importantly it was an event to recognize some remarkable teachers and students! �



## Students Honored with High Tech Academic Achievement Scholarships

It was an evening of acknowledging & saluting accomplishments, of bright futures ahead.

The High Tech scholarships to outstanding AVID students were made possible by support from the T-Sector magazine, Blue Hornet, Basic Link, Peregrine, Wind River, Gary & Nancy Sutton, the Joe Rindone Memorial Scholarship Fund, and the Classroom of the Future Foundation.

Students who overcame difficult personal challenges to shine in the classroom were saluted with scholarships:

- Gabriela Cumplido, Mar Vista High School
- Crystal Alcaide, Torrey Pines High School
- James Beach, Monte Vista High School
- Zoarel Fuentes, University City High School
- Maria Gonzales, Crawford High School
- Carlos Torres, Oceanside High School
- Trung Tran, La Jolla High School
- Alberto Vega, Valley Center High School

Congratulations to all eight AVID students for their dedication and perseverance to overcome life's challenges in pursuit of a quality education and bright future.  $\clubsuit$ 

### Teachers Saluted for Innovation

The inaugural Innovation in Education Awards recognized teachers who personify TIME (Teacher Innovations Maximizing Education) mission.

- Jesse Johnson, Samantha Swan and Blair Dawson were honored from Lemon Grove Middle School for their incorporation of One-to-One @ Home and School technology in the classroom.
- Gail Moran of Del Mar Heights Elementary School was recognized for her work in facilitating the use and understanding of technology in the classroom.

- Jason Lee, Cece Boehme and John Cross from Steele Canyon and West Hills High Schools were saluted for their implementation of an e-Backpack program.
  - Sarah McNary and Leo Fletes of La Costa Canyon High School were feted for utilizing innovative Plato Systems software to improve student proficiency.

Erin Cronin and Manuel Bojrquez of San Ysidro Middle School were saluted for innovative approaches to helping students overcome challenges posed with English as a second language.

Congratulations to all for their daring insight, and commitment to utilizing technology to open new horizons for their students. ❖

# *Special Thanks to Annual Event Sponsors*

Cox Communications	Mission Federal Credit Union
National University	SAIC
San Diego Union-Tribune	Apple Computer, Inc.
Douglas e. Barnhart	Cubic Corporation
General Atomics	PacifiCare
Palomar, Pomerado Health	Plato learning
Parham & Rajcic	QUALCOMM, Inc.
SAIS	SBC
Sony	Televideo, San Diego

Time Warner Cable